Nobody leaves the bar intending to get a DUI. Despite that, dozens if not hundreds of people in Kansas City find themselves in the backs of cop cars every weekend for driving over the limit. There’s no shortage of penalties for a DUI conviction, but one of the most debilitating is losing your driver’s license.
A first time DUI conviction will your driving privileges for 90 days. This will make getting to work, to court, to pick up your kids and other every day responsibilities much more difficult and time consuming. Fortunately, by doing a little extra work you can have this suspension period reduced to eliminated.
Get back on the road with a “restricted driving privilege”
Your driving privileges are not completely gone for 90 days just because they are constrained. The court suspends your license for 30 days after your first DUI conviction, after which you’ll be able to receive 60 days of Restricted Driving Privileges (RDP). Restricted Driving Privileges allow you to drive, but only to get to very important places, including:
- Your place of employment
- Your school
- A medical center
- Court or legal obligations
- Your religious center
- A grocery store
- Custodial obligations
If you decide to go this route you will need to serve your 30-day license suspension, then provide proof of insurance by submitting an SR-22 form.
Skipping the 30-day license suspension
Alternatively, you may have the option to skip the 30-day license suspension and immediately receive 90 days of RDP. This will require some extra effort and paperwork, but it will mean being able to drive when it’s a necessity right away. You will also need to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID); otherwise recognizable as an alcohol breath tester built into your vehicle.
To get the ball rolling on this option you will need to:
- Submit a Request for Immediate 90-Day Restricted Driving Privilege form within 15 days of receiving the notice that your driving privilege has been suspended.
- Submit proof that you have had an IID installed in your vehicle.
- Provide proof of insurance by submitting an SR-22 form.
All of the required forms and where to send them can be found on the Missouri Department of Revenue’s page covering Restricted Driving Privilege.
It takes some extra legwork and filling out forms, but it is possible to stay on the road after a DUI conviction. Being able to drive to necessities can mean keeping your job or even making a court date on time. If getting around without a car will be a challenge for you, don’t hesitate to consider these options.